Skip to main content

News & Events

USDA Appoints 32 Members to Potatoes USA’s Board of Directors

April 25, 2024

DENVER — April 24, 2024 — The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced the appointment of 32 members to Potatoes USA’s Board of Directors. The appointees include 30 producer members and two importers, each filling three-year terms that will expire Feb. 28, 2027.

The nomination process for board members is conducted annually. Candidates are proposed by the industry and are appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture after a thorough review.

The Potatoes USA Board of Directors guides the organization’s efforts to promote and support the potato industry. The Board sets strategic goals and objectives for the organization and allocates resources to various marketing, research and education initiatives. The Board also monitors these programs’ performance and adjusts them as necessary to ensure they are effective and impactful for the potato industry, including growers, processors and other stakeholders.

New Board Members

  • Jaclyn Green – Edison, California
  • Cliff Shaw – Monte Vista, Colorado
  • Daniel J. Corey – St. Augustine, Florida
  • Brad Reed – Pingree, Idaho
  • Derek Peterson – Rexburg, Idaho
  • Jaren Raybould – St. Anthony, Idaho
  • Jordan C. Thomas – Rupert, Idaho
  • Nate McBride – Rupert, Idaho
  • R. Gabriel Boldt – Idaho Falls, Idaho
  • Steve Elfering – Meridian, Idaho
  • Trevor Searle – Burley, Idaho
  • Adam DeGroot – Saint Anne, Illinois
  • Danny Deprey – Mars Hill, Maine
  • John Halverson – Arbyrd, Missouri
  • Tara May – O’Neill, Nebraska
  • Hunter Gibbs – Swan Quarter, North Carolina
  • Andrew Moquist – Crystal, North Dakota
  • Kathy Sponheim – Urbana, Ohio
  • Jason Davenport – Boardman, Oregon
  • Jonathon Springstead – Boardman, Oregon
  • Travis Meacham – Moses Lake, Washington
  • Sanjiv Kakkar – Princeton, New Jersey (importer member)

Reappointed Board Members

  • Jace Jensen – Idaho Falls, Idaho
  • Ryan Tucker – Shelbyville, Michigan
  • Brian Mahany – Arkport, New York
  • Camburn Shephard – Crystal, North Dakota
  • H. Bruce Richardson, Jr. – Capeville, Virginia
  • James Baker – Moses Lake, Washington
  • Michael M. Pink – Pasco, Washington
  • Shelley R. Olsen – Othello, Washington
  • Wendy Dykstra – Friesland, Wisconsin
  • Clifton Smith – Bancroft, Wisconsin (importer member)

More information about Potatoes USA’s board can be found at  or on USDA’s Agriculture Marketing Service (AMS) National Potato Promotion Board webpage.

About Potatoes USA

Potatoes USA is the national marketing and promotion board representing U.S. growers and importers. Potatoes USA, the largest vegetable commodity board, was established in 1971 by potato farmers to promote the benefits of eating potatoes. For more information on Potatoes USA’s mission to “Strengthen Demand for Potatoes,” visit


You are leaving the Potatoes USA website

Disclaimer: You are navigating to a website maintained by a third party and are about to leave the Potatoes USA web site. The external link should not be considered an endorsement by Potatoes USA of the third-party web site or the company or organization that owns it, and Potatoes USA is not responsible for the accuracy or nature of the content of the linked web site.

Continue to New Site Cancel