Potatoes USA 2024 Summer Meeting Minutes August 5, 2024 The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, B.C. Recorded by: Chelsea Gray

### <u>Welcome</u>

Chairwoman Shelley Olsen called the meeting to order at 7:49 AM PT.

## Antitrust Statement

Shelley acknowledged the antitrust policy statement, which Zoom attendees must accept when logging into the meeting platform. A copy of the Antitrust Policy Statement was also provided to attendees before meetings on BoardEffect.

## Roll Call

Board Members present in person include Les Alderete, Steven Barrett, Trever Belnap, Jess Blatchford, Norbert Bomm, Mike Carter, Daniel Corey, Sander Dagen, Jason Davenport, Danny Deprey, Kathy deVries-Ruehs, Wendy Dykstra, Steve Elfering, Hunter Gibbs, Taylor Grant, Dan Gundersen, Leah Halverson, Eric Jensen, Ben Josephson, Sanjiv Kakkar, Rhonda Kleyn, Martin Kimm, Braden Lake, Brian Mahany, Juan Martinez, Dave Masser, Tara May, Nathan McBride, Travis Meacham, Andrew Moquist, Ryan Moss, Shelley Olsen, Derek Peterson, Mike Pink, Jaren Raybould, Kevin Schleicher, Trevor Searle, Cliff Shaw, Camburn Shephard, Alison Sklarczyk, Clifton Smith, Troy Sorensen, Kathy Sponheim, Jonathon Springstead, Sam Stahl, Ed Staunton, Jordan Thomas, Blake Underwood, Marvin Wollman, Dennis Wright, and Ben Zechmann.

Board members Robert Boldt, Jennifer Bunger, Adam DeGroot, Aron Derbidge, Jennifer Gogan, John Halverson, Jeff Irving, Jace Jensen, Kamren Koompin, Bevan Lenz, Jeff VanOrden were present online.

Deanna Bakken from USDA was present.

No proxies were received. With over 50% of the board in attendance, a quorum was present.

#### **Minutes Approval**

Copies of the meeting minutes were emailed to attendees before the meeting and made available for everyone to view via BoardEffect.

A **MOTION** was made and seconded to approve the minutes from the Spring Board Meeting held **March 13-14**, **2024.** There was no discussion, and the motion passed.

#### 2024 Board Appointments

Shelley Olsen shared the 2024 board appointments temporarily placed on the Temporary Illustrious Potato Committee of Eloquent Advisors (TIPCEA). These board members were made official in April when Secretary Vilsack approved them.

The nominating committee chair, Mike Carter, made a MOTION to appoint Steve Elfering and Hunter Gibbs to the Executive Committee in the Communications Committee Chair and Nutrition & Health Chair positions, respectively. The motion was seconded, there were no additional nominations, no discussion, and the motion passed.

Shelley Olsen reminded the new board members of their committee appointments from the Spring Meeting.

# **Meeting Suspended**

At 2:55 PM, Chairwoman Shelley Olsen suspended the board meeting.

Potatoes USA 2024 Summer Meeting Minutes August 7, 2024 The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, B.C. Recorded by: Chelsea Gray

<u>Welcome</u> Chairwoman Shelley Olsen reconvened the Summer Meeting at 8:43 AM PT.

## **Executive Committee Report**

Shelley Olsen shared an overview of recent Executive Committee events.

#### Market Development Committee

Kim Breshears, CMO for Potatoes USA, shared an overview of potato sales data in the U.S. and exports.

Les Alderete, Chair of the Consumer Subcommittee, shared recent and upcoming consumer activities, including Influencer partnerships, Strava activities, and college campus activations.

Leah Halverson, Chair of the Retail Subcommittee, highlighted FY24 activities, including one-on-one meetings and retail partnerships. Leah also shared planned FY25 Domestic and International Retail activities.

Dennis Wright, Chair of the Foodservice Subcommittee, and Tiffany Thompson, Global Foodservice Marketing Manager at Potatoes USA, shared FY24's lessons and the direction for FY25.

#### **Culinary Committee**

Ed Staunton, Chair of the Culinary Committee, and RJ Harvey, Culinary Director for Potatoes USA, shared the Culinary Committee's recent activities and achievements.

#### **Production Research Committee**

Trever Belnap and Dave Masser, Cochairs of the Production Research Committee, gave an update on NFPT, PRAC, Seed Symposium, and Seed Task Force. A **MOTION** was made and seconded to request that NPC pursue protocols with the Philippines to allow access to import U.S. seed potatoes. There was no discussion, and the motion passed.

#### **Nutrition & Health Committee**

Hunter Gibbs, Chair of the Nutrition & Health Committee, shared FY24 key learnings, FY25 Activities, and priorities.

#### Finance & Policy Committee

Wendy Dykstra, Finance & Policy Committee Chair, and Monica Heath, CFO for Potatoes USA, shared the FY24 Financial Statements.

A **MOTION** was made by Wendy Dykstra and seconded to approve proposed changes to the Employee Handbook. Changes included updated state benefits, removed repetitive coverage for paid leave, and expanded certain sections for clarification. There was no discussion, and the motion passed.

A **MOTION** was made by Wendy Dykstra and seconded to approve the Artificial Intelligence Ethics Policy as presented. The Policy was created for the AI system created by KungFu AI and follows the structure of other federal AI policies. It also includes ethical practices when using AI and confirms human involvement. There was no discussion, and the motion passed.

## **Communications Committee**

Steve Elfering, Chair of the Communications Committee, shared new messaging and marketing materials defining who Potatoes USA is. Steve also provided an update on the recent Communications activities and program priorities for FY25.

Erin Christian gave a live demonstration of the Spuddie AI system.

## USDA Update

Deanna Bakken had nothing to report on behalf of USDA.

## CEO Report

Blair Richardson shared an overview of lessons learned and how they have influenced Potatoes USA's priorities heading into FY25.

## **Closed Session**

At 1:05 PM, a **MOTION** was made and seconded to go into a closed session. The motion passed, and the board went into closed session.

The committee returned to open session. No action was taken during the closed session.

## <u>Adjourn</u>

Chairperson Shelley Olsen adjourned the meeting at 1:09 PM.

Approved by:

— Signed by: Shulley Asen

Chairperson

1/18/2025

Date

Wendy Dykstra

Secretary/Treasurer

1/17/2025

Date